Each state in the United States had formulated its own driving and traffic laws to safeguard its citizens. Majority of the laws are common, while some of them would be state-specific. In Alaska, the most important driving and traffic laws are listed here.
Any person driving a vehicle in Alaska should have an authorized driving license. Driving without a license or with an insufficient or delinquent license is an offense under the Alaska driving laws. The minimum age for learner permit is 14 years, for intermediate license, the minimum age is 16 years, and for full license the minimum age is 16 years and 6 months.
Drinking and Driving Violation
Any person found to be driving a vehicle under the influence of any alcoholic beverage, intoxicating inhalants, or controlled substances would be held to have done a crime. According to Alaskan law, driving under the influence of drinks is a Class A misdemeanor. The court could impose an imprisonment of not less than 72 hours and a fine of not less than $1,500, if the driver is convicted and if it is a first time offense. The imprisonment would be not less than 20 days and the fine would be not less than $3,000 if the offense is done the second time. For the third time offense, the imprisonment would not be less than 60 days and the fine would not be less than $4,000.
The period of imprisonment and the fine would increase for each additional drinking and driving offense. The court could revoke the license of the driver and the privilege to drive or obtain another license. The motor vehicle could be forfeited. The court could direct the convicted person to satisfy the referral, evaluation, screening, and alcohol safety program requirements and order rehabilitative treatments.
Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance
In Alaska, each vehicle and driver must possess valid motor vehicle liability insurance. For the injury or death coverage of a single person, the minimum insurance coverage limit is $50,000 for each accident, while it is $100,000 for more than one person. Further, the coverage limit for property damage is $25,000. Driving without a proper insurance policy or with an insufficient insurance policy could result in conviction, if there is a lawsuit.
Action of Parties Involved In an Accident
If a vehicle is involved in an accident that had resulted in an injury or death to a person or had caused damage to another vehicle or property, the driver of the vehicle should stop the vehicle immediately and remain at the scene of the accident. The driver should fulfill the legal requirements under the law. The driver should take all reasonable steps for remedial measures to mitigate and compensate the damage caused by the accident. Hit and run incidents like leaving the scene of accident, negligent driving, reckless driving, over speeding, etc. would be considered as punishable crime and the driver could be prosecuted and convicted.
Vehicle Equipment Standards
Each vehicle should meet the minimum standards set in the Alaska Safety Laws. The headlights should be in working order. The lenses and windshield should be kept clean. Tinted windshields should not be used since they would affect vision in night. It is advisable to carry one flashlight and a few flares. Safety belts are compulsory in all motor vehicles. If children are carried in the vehicle, child restraint devices should be used.
Other Alaska driving and traffic laws could be obtained from the official government website of Alaska.