Alabama, as many states do, utilizes a point system in assigning disciplinary action for moving and non moving violations. As the points accumulate you will receive different levels of consequences that will escalate with the increase of points. These points will go against your driving record and can result in higher insurance rates that could last for years to come.
Points assigned to the following violations are just an example of what you can expect if you do not follow the rules of the road. Reckless driving will result in 6 points, speeding 26 mph or higher will give you 5 points, driving on the wrong side of the road is 4 points, illegal passing of another vehicle will get you 4 points and driving too close to another vehicle will get you 3 points.
As these points accumulate you can lose your license for different lengths of time. Within a 2-year period you could lose your license for 60 days if you reach 12-14 points; 90 days for 15-17 points; 120 days for 18-20 points and 24 points will get you a year’s suspension.
If you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% in the state of Alabama you are considered driving under the influence (DUI). Drivers under the age of 21 years of age, school bus drivers or drivers of day care vehicles are considered DUI with a blood alcohol level of .02% and commercial drivers are under the influence at .04%.
It is the law in Alabama that if you are stopped by a law enforcement officer under suspicion of DUI your license will be automatically suspended if you refuse a breath, urine or blood test.
A first offense will get you fines of $600 to $2,100 and or one year in jail. You must attend DUI School and you could also lose your license for up to 90 days. A second offense will bring fines of $1,100 to $5,100 and or one year in jail. You could lose your license for up to one year and you could face a minimum of 48 hours in jail or 20 days of community service.
Alabama is one of the states that enforce the Click it or Ticket law which means you can be stopped by a law enforcement officer just for not wearing your seat belt. It is also enforced as Buckle up in your Truck to protect drivers and passengers in other types of vehicles.
All children 12 years of age and under must ride in the back seat of the vehicle. Infants up to one year old must ride in a rear facing car seat in the back seat. Children from one to four years old can ride in an approved child seat facing forward and kids four to eight weighing at least 40 pounds can sit in a booster seat that utilizes the car’s safety belt.
Alabama does not currently have any restrictions regarding using a cell phone and driving a vehicle. You should still use common sense and utilize a hands free set or pull over if you must be on the phone other than in an emergency.